

## CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY GEOTECHNICAL SOCIETY

## **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)**

Date: Wednesday 31<sup>st</sup> May 2017 Time : 5.30 pm Place: Old Library, Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge Chair: Stefan Ritter

PRESENT	14 members were present for the AGM					
NOTES	The society currently has 161 members.					
	Notice of more than 14 days was given to all members regarding the AGM					
	Requirements for the AGM:					
	1) Minimum of 5 members present required for the AGM					
	2) Each motion to be proposed and seconded by two members					
	3) Agreement on the membership fee					
	4) Finances of the previous year to be approved					
	Paper copies of the following documents were available at the AGM:					
	- Minutes of AGM 2015/2016 academic year					
	- Financial report for 2015/2016 academic year					
	- Financial report for 2016/2017 academic year					
	- Agenda for AGM					
	- Ballot papers					

	ITEM SUMMARY	VOTING OUTCOME
ACTION 1:	Approval of AGM minutes and financial report for 2015/2016 academic year.	PASSED with 13/14 votes.
	There were no objections raised regarding these items.	13/14 votes. 1 abstain*

ACTION 2:	Chair's report for 201	6/2017 academic year.		NA
	The chair discussed th	e Society's events from	the past year.	
ACTION 3:	Treasurer's report and	PASSED with 13/14 votes.		
	present members. Pa		vere shown and detailed to the ited to those present. No I report.	1 abstain*
ACTION 4:	Proposed motions			PASSED with 13/14 votes.
	1. There shall be Proposed: S. F	1 abstain*		
		re forwarded to the cor	nmittee prior to the AGM or	
ACTION 5:	Election of the new co		ing had to be seen as the t	All positions unanimously
		-	ions had to be proposed and the secretary by Monday 29 <sup>th</sup>	appointed.
	POSITION	CANDIDATE	PROPOSER/SECONDER	
	CHAIR	Fiona Hughes	Njemile Faustin/Stefan Ritter	
	VICE CHAIR	Thejesh Kumar Garala	Stefan Ritter/Samy Garcia Torres	
	SECRETARY	Gianmario Sorrentino	Fiona Hughes/ Njemile Faustin	
	JUNIOR TRESURER	Samy Garcia Torres	Talia da Silva/Stefan Ritter	
	SEMINAR COORDINATOR	Charalampos Konstantinou	Stephan van Eeden/ Deryck Chan	
	SEMINAR COORDINATOR	Jad Boksmati	Fiona Hughes/ Stephan van Eeden	
	SITE VISIT COORDINATOR	Geoff Eichorn	Deryck Chan/ Talia da Silva	

	Election results: 13 members vote	d, 1 abstained*.		
	POSITION	CANDIDATE	Supporting votes	STATUS
	CHAIR	Fiona Hughes	13/13	Elected
	VICE CHAIR	Thejesh Kumar Garala	13/13	Elected
	SECRETARY	Gianmario Sorrentino	13/13	Elected
	JUNIOR TRESURER	Samy Garcia Torres	13/13	Elected
	SEMINAR COORDINATOR	Charalampos Konstantinou	13/13	Elected
	SEMINAR COORDINATOR	Jad Boksmati	13/13	Elected
	SITE VISIT COORDINATOR	Geoff Eichhorn	13/13	Elected
OTES	* The Honorary President abstained from voting due to his current role within the society			